A complement to the academic lifestyle

You might not think of academic computer science as a creative discipline, but the best thing I’ve done for my career so far has been to treat it like one.  I’m always on the lookout for advice for writers and other creative people (why yes, Ask Polly is a particular favorite of mine),  and try to incorporate those ideas into my life and career.  Recently, I’ve been feeling a tug towards blogging (The blog is dead! Long live the blog!) as an exercise in looser, more open-ended writing and as a way to help me prioritize the creative side of my life.

At the moment, my plan is to use this blog as a record of my adventures in cooking, fashion, interior decor, crafting, and yes, technology (maybe there will even be a link to my github page eventually… maybe).  If I’m lucky, I’ll even be able to rope some of my amazing friends into guest posting or co-blogging (friends reading this, you’re on notice!).

